Biking in the Full Moon

The energy on the day of a full moon is always so intense. I became a moon watcher when I started riding my bike at night the fall after I biked to PEI. It seemed I was always biking at night and so I started noticing the moon more and more. Now I am a moon watcher. I keep track of my cycle in comparison to the moon and I keep track of behaviors around the moon. It is all very interesting. The ebb and flow, waxing and waning of the moon affects every person, whether we know it or not.

When I lived on 15th Street, I used to bike in the “tree park” at night all the time. I would purposely turn off my bike light so that the only light for me to ride by was the light of the moon. It was always spectacular and felt like I was flying. In the winter, the moonlight off the snow would make it glow as if it was day. I have not had many revelations while biking in the moonlight, but it always feels special. It feels significant, like something is about to happen – something exciting and life-altering. It is exhilarating and scary all at the same time.

Today, my full moon adventure was more about a change in energy in my day-to-day activities. Everything just “felt” different. Perhaps it’s also because of the big change in my personal life, but I don’t believe that it all happened coincidentally at the same time. Two men in my life are hurting right now because of choices I made. One is my dog, Clifford, who got neutered today. It was the saddest thing to pick him up from the vet and see him so sulky. He barely even wagged his tail. Now, because he is a “licker,” despite the bitter spray they put on the sutures, he has to wear one of those degrading cones around his head. When he runs into the wall, he stops and looks like he is about to give up on life. I have never seen him so depressed in the 4 months that we have been together. I am sure that he will pull out of it and be back to his fun-loving self in no time.

Leave a Reply

