NaNoWriMo Adventures

NaNoWriMo means a lot more than just some random letters thrown together to some people. To some people, it is a little bit of insanity pushed together for one month – the month of November. In the month (the Mo part) of November, writers (the Wri part) from around the world try to put as many words together as they possibly can into a novel (the No part).

I can’t remember where I first heard about NaNoWriMo. I think it just kept coming up in conversation with writing friends I have. So when I looked it up in October and saw that it was a couple of weeks away, I thought “Sure, why not?” Apparently I didn’t really realize what I was getting myself into. For me, NaNoWriMo is about even CONSIDERING the idea of writing a Novel because I have never really thought about it before. My writing, for the most part, has never really gotten past some articles for magazines/newspapers, poetry for my own angst left in my journals, and my online blogging. It is a big step for me to even start putting together something for a novel.

There are people in the world, I am discovering, that take this month very seriously. They update their word counts religiously everyday, join online communities to talk about their plots and blocks they are having, do writing “sprints” in chat rooms, and some of them have even reached their 50,000 word count already and are working on the second set of 50,000 words. As I read my Livejournal Friends list, I am in awe of these people. They are truly dedicated to thier writing, novel, and story. Since this is the 10th year of NaNoWriMo, some of them are veterans of this. I’ve heard of some people not writing in between NaNoWriMos because they get so burned out after November. It is pretty much a given that writing a novel in a month is hard and you have to set aside significant amounts of time and energy to do it.

Last week, I sat down and wrote out one paragraph of something that I just wanted to try out. That was all I could muster. I also don’t have a lot of time and I like to sleep. It seems that writers tend not to sleep very much and/or they have jobs that are conducive to coming to only half awake. For me, I am just too busy to actually keep up to the 2,000 words per day speed. Maybe that’s just an excuse and if I was serious, I would just not have a life for a month while I crank out a novel. Perhaps I will about that for next year’s NaNoWriMo.

All that being said, this weekend I am hoping to do some writing. Like I said, this month is really about me even beginning the process of writing a novel. A good friend of mine, who I consider a writer even if she doesn’t, is much better at stuff like this and we talked about a potential plot. It has been marinating in my head for a few days now and I think I am going to try to put together something so that I, too, can update my word count on the NaNoWriMo website.

P.S. Na=National

2 Comments

  1. alissie said,

    November 9, 2008 at 5:13 am

    NaNoWriMo… sigh…
    I’m a Wrimo myself, and a new one at that. Just crossed the 22k mark today, though I’m not sure how on earth I’ll be able to keep this pace up for the rest of the month!

    Best of luck with your novel. It’s going to be a long November!

  2. Crystal said,

    November 13, 2008 at 3:27 am

    22k is great! I’m at 3000 words and I never thought I’d get this far. There is a lot of dialogue, which I’m not sure I’m super happy about, but it is what it is. December is for editing… or finishing, in my case. I really would like to finish the novel, I just don’t think it’s going to happen this month. Not enough time for an athletically training fool like myself. Good luck with yours! Keep me posted. Add me as a buddy, I’m “radiovoice.”


Leave a Reply

