Never Say Never. Don’t you forget anything?

Today I hung out with a friend who I had not seen since my “never”days. He reminded me of a time in my life when I said “I will never own a car!” I was so adamant about it and believed it to my core. However, here I am almost two years later with a car on my street and I am the sole owner of that hunk of metal.

I felt I had to justify it, both to him and myself. “Well, I have to for work because I need to drive all over the province!” Etc. Etc. We both knew what it was: I was trying to purge my sins… or whatever people who believe in sins do to relieve them of guilt. You’d think I was a recovering Catholic. Nope, I’m just a recovering Activist!

As I was driving home today from work, I was thinking about other things I would “never” do as a granolier-than-thou activist:
I will never own a cell phone.
I will never text!
I will never use a plastic bag.
I will never buy individually packaged foods, even if they ARE vegan!
I will never… umm… I think I’ve run out for now. I’m sure there are more and I will have to re-visit this post and update it. Keep watching!

And yes, I have done all of those things in the past 8 hours. Let this be a lesson to all of you… NEVER EVER say never!

2 Comments

  1. StarryGift said,

    November 13, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. December 12, 2008 at 2:36 am

    […] me [most of the time], that I know of, and try to reduce my unhealthy behaviors. And while I “never say never” anymore, I won’t lie and say that I will “never” drink coffee, but I am […]


Leave a Reply

