A Book Project

Usually when Treehugger sends me its daily earth-friendly titles, I skim them. Usually they kind of annoy me because they talk about things like “sustainable cars,” earth-friendly businesses, etc. These are oxymorons. In reality, there is no such thing as a sustainable car and I believe that capitalism, in general, is not earth-friendly. However, today there was a pretty interesting topic called “9 Must Read Books on Eating Well.” It was mostly just interesting to me because I was curious to know what books Treehugger would select as important for reading (it’s true that I don’t hold Treehugger in the highest regard, but it lends for good blog rants). I was pleasantly surprised to see many really good books on the list. Books like The 100-mile Diet by Alisa Smith and James MacKinnon, The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan, Stuffed and Starved by Raj Patel, who was just here in Saskatoon yesterday, and Where Our Food Comes From by Gary Nabhan.

As I was reading the list, I kept thinking about how I had HEARD so many great things about all of these books, but I have not actually READ them! I have been told by a lot of my friends to read “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” especially, but have resisted partially because I’m vegan (although I know he’s not necessarily anti-vegan) and because I have just been procrastinating from reading it. However, I have decided that it would be a great project to work through this list of books.

Lately, I have been on a self-help book kick around relationships and communication. In general, I like to mix my books between fiction and non-fiction. I plan to keep that going, but I think that my next phase of non-fiction will be this list of books. I wonder how long it will take me… and how it will affect what I eat. The only realm of food books that this list is missing, in my opinion, is one on eating raw food.

Leave a Reply

