The Onion: “the most wasted of all days is one without laughter” ~e.e. cummings

These days, sometimes The Onion is the only thing that will make me laugh. Maybe my life has become too serious or maybe I’m just bored right now or maybe it is the fact that this whole political mess that kind of jeopardizes my job, but all of that is besides the point. The point is, The Onion is hilarious. I read the RSS feeds almost daily, especially when the titles are just too humorous to ignore.

Today’s title “Moving to New City to Solve all of Area Man’s Problems” definitely perked my interest as I have thought about moving to a new city and have heard many of my friends say this lately.

Moving To New City To Solve All Of Area Man’s Problems

December 5, 2008 | Issue 44•49

ATLANTA—All of area resident Brian Shepard’s problems, including his fear of commitment, lack of personal direction, and inability to learn from past failures, will be instantly solved this week when the 29-year-old packs up his belongings and moves to a new city. “Moving to Portland is going to make all the difference in the world,” said Shepard, who, just by putting 2,500 miles distance between himself and years of destructive behavior, will suddenly turn his life around. “It won’t be anything like Chicago, or Boston, or San Francisco. This is exactly what I need right now.” Shepard also plans to completely eliminate his dependence on self-denial by ignoring his dependence on self-denial.

Sometimes you just need a laugh and a kick in the butt on a Friday!

2 Comments

  1. Angryviking said,

    December 7, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    What? I was positive moving to a new city fixes everything..

  2. Crystal said,

    December 8, 2008 at 12:45 am

    I know! I was under the same impression. My favorite part is ““It won’t be anything like Chicago, or Boston, or San Francisco.”

    Just so funny!


Leave a Reply

