20 Albums that Changed my Life

The instructions:
Think of 20 albums that had such a profound effect on you they changed your life. Dig into your soul. Music that brought you to life when you heard it. Royally affected you, kicked you in the wasu, literally socked you in the gut, is what I mean. Then when you finish, tag 20 others, including moi. Make sure you copy and paste this part so they know the drill. Get the idea now?

My note: This was harder than I thought it was going to be, mostly because it’s all off the top of my head. I’m sure I missed some key albums.

1. Smashing Pumpkins – Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness
You know, I JUST got the play on words here! Oh, Billy, you are just so witty. The SP was the first concert I went to as a teenager and it was so great. I wore my SP shirt for years even though my mom hated it. I felt like it “expressed” me.

2. Live – Throwing Copper
My very first CD bought; I bought it before I even had a CD player. That was “back in the day” when BMG was the hot new thing.

3. Tegan and Sara – Under Feet Like Ours
My introduction to indie singer-songwriters. This was from back in the days of Napster!

4. Be Good Tanyas – Blue Horse
I still listen to this album a ridiculous amount. It reminds me of the summer I biked across Canada – definitely a coming-of-age summer in 2001.

5. Veruca Salt – Eight Arms to Hold You
In, like 1997, they opened for BushX or something, but I went for VS. I was a regular on their fan forum for many years after that and made some cool friends from there. I stopped going, though, when there was some drama. I know, I know – internet drama?

6. Metric – Old World Underground Where Are You Now?
Just way too good!

7. The Beatles – The White Album
Arguably one of the best albums of all time.

8. Janis Joplin – Pearl (with Full Tilt Boogie)
My dad was a huge Janis fan and we both still love her. I believe my middle name to be a tribute to both this woman and my aunt who passed away just before I was born. I feel a spiritual connection to both of these women because of this.

9. Feist – The Reminder
This album is so good that sometimes it’s hard to listen to!

10. Regina Spektor – Begin to Hope
This album really does give me hope for the future of the world. If music this amazing can be created, then the world can surely be salvaged.

11. Arcarde Fire – Funeral
Easily my most spun album from 2004 – present. Even though I still listen to it all the time I think to myself every time, “This is such a good album!”

12. Stars – Set Yourself on Fire
So sappy and great.

13. The Black Keys – Magic Potion
It just kicks me in the pants every time I hear it!

14. Jann Arden – Living Under June
This album had “Good Mother” on it, which meant a lot to me when this album came out because my mom was undergoing treatment for cancer that summer.

15. Beck – Odelay
There really is no explanation for this album. It speaks for itself.

16. Radiohead – OK Computer
It was hard to pick just one from Radiohead.

17. Elliott Smith – Figure 8
There is nothing like listening to Elliott when you’re feeling really depressed. Especially, now that we can even be sad because he’s not around to make the beautiful music anymore.

18. Fleetwood Mac – Rumours
How is it possible that this album gets so much radio play on mainstream radio and is so amazing at the same time.

19. Travis – The Invisible Band
I listened to this album on my walkman in 2001 almost every day when I biked across Canada.

20. Blitzen Trapper – Furr
My top album of 2008.

Leave a Reply

