The Necessary DIY Tool: YouTube!

Last year I bought a house and what comes along with any house are home improvements. They are inherently  part of the whole deal. Last fall I built a fence and it was a bit of a ridiculous scene. There were lots of physical and theoretical road blocks and I wished that I had someone to just come and show me what I needed to do. The fence eventually got built, thanks to a couple of friends that helped me out. I couldn’t help but wonder, though, if there wasn’t an easier way. In fact, I was sure there had to be!

I have noticed lately, though, how many people are using YouTube to find out how to do things like yard improvements. In fact, I just looked up “build a fence,” the cause of so much unnecessary stress for a couple of weeks, and it brought me to this video all about the tools needed and a step-by-step guide to building a fence. It would have been good to know about 8 months ago, but it’s good to know it’s out there anyway! And now I’m sharing it with all of you.

It seems that if you want to do ANYTHING, you can find out how to do it on YouTube. Any songs that I learn on guitar have been from internet sites. However, today I found several videos on how to play “Imagine” by John Lennon. I guess what surprises me the most is not that these videos exist, but how great the quality is! It also seems that people just love to share their knowledge!

I wonder how this will impact the world in general. I mean, if anyone can find out how to do anything from YouTube in step-by-step ways, will it impact construction companies, plumbers, landscapers, or other related industries? It probably won’t because most people have more money than time. In terms of my life, where I have more time than money these days, this new-to-me tool has become extremely handy. Well, I’m off to learn how to shingle my roof!

Leave a Reply

