The Clutter Project – Where do I put this Junk?

As I started to declutter the spaces that I use the most, a funny thing happened; I have little piles of junk everywhere! While my garbage bag is also filling up and my recycling bin is getting a good fill-up, I have these items that I won’t throw in the trash. These include things that I want to donate to second-hand stores or that I want to sell at a garage sale or on the internet.

Now that I know that I need to gather this stuff so that I can make just a few trips to the local second-hand shop, my preference is the Mennonite Central Committee, I must gather this stuff and take it to the appropriate drop-off spot. My thoughts of having a garage sale are definitely with me, but garage sales are a lot of work for a triathlete whose busiest time of year is the spring and summer. My mom is a garage-sale-aholic and might be interested in helping me out. She loves this stuff! No matter what, though, I need a place to put this junk.

The next step in this project is to get disposable boxes and label them with “Give away” or “Throw away.” As a detail-person, I get stuck on the little things like “I don’t have any boxes.” I actually have to converse with myself to say “Uhh… well, go out and get some!” I have a lot of stuff that I do want to sell, though. This will be done through the internet and will happen as soon as my desk becomes completely clutter-free. It should only take a few days.

Also, it has come to my attention that my obsession/discussing this clutter business has inspired a couple of my friends to look at their own clutter. For all of you out there trying to declutter: “Keep going! It feels so good to get rid of junk!”

1 Comment

  1. pdawg said,

    January 14, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    i concur


Leave a Reply

